联系我们

耦合镜和准直镜可以互换吗?

1。耦合透镜和准直透镜简介


透镜索引书中经常通过透镜的应用场景来区分耦合透镜和准直透镜。分别是什么意思?


会聚光路中使用耦合透镜,将激光的发散光会聚到接收光纤中;


准直透镜,也叫准直透镜,用于准直光路中,将激光或光纤的发散光转换成发散角较小的近平行光束。


2.耦合透镜和准直透镜的区别

 它们的区别在于光源到物体焦点的距离:


对于准直透镜,光源靠近物体的焦点,光斑的垂直放大倍数为几十到几百倍。对于会聚透镜,光源远离物体焦点,光斑垂直放大倍数只有几倍。


下一篇我们将讨论一个问题。耦合透镜可以用于准直吗?或者准直透镜可以用于会聚光耦合吗?在实践中,不需要考虑这个问题,因为 镜头供应商提供了丰富的价格相近的镜头,没有“一镜二用”的驱动力。这个问题的答案应该从数值孔径和像差的角度来考虑。


(1)数值孔径


当同一个透镜用作准直透镜时,其有效数值孔径明显大于用作会聚透镜时。因此,当准直透镜用作会聚透镜时,面临着数值孔径不足的风险。否则就没有这个问题。 


(2)像差


耦合透镜或准直透镜的目标是根据自己的应用优化表面形状。在镜头供应商推荐的工作距离和光圈下,波像差可以达到0.05λ以内,这样小的像差带来的耦合损耗可以忽略不计。如果耦合透镜和准直透镜互换使用,像差可能比索引书中的大。至于多大,这个要根据具体的表面形状和工作距离来确定。像差增加会直接导致耦合效率下降。


综上所述,更换耦合透镜和准直透镜会导致数值孔径的变化和像差的恶化,会导致耦合效率的下降。这种下降的波动范围可能小至零点几分贝,大至2~3dB。在功率余量较大的光路中,效率损失在可接受的范围内,可以替代使用。但是,不要在功率余量不足的情况下交替使用它们,尤其是在无源光学器件中。

相关内容
  • 物理光学工程中光学透镜的设计与使用

    物理光学工程中光学透镜的设计与使用

    November 8, 2017任何光学镜片,无论新旧,我们都可以用镜片描述这个词来区分镜片的数量、玻璃的种类、镜面半径、镜片的厚度、镜片...view
  • 圆形凹面镜

    March 29, 2019圆形凹面镜是反射成像。镜子(包括凸面)是反射回来成像而不是通过光线,光线遵循反射定律,这就是我们所...view

Contact Us

Can the Coupling Lens and Collimator Lens Be Replaced with Each Other?

1. Brief introduction of coupling lens and collimator lens


Coupling lens and collimator lens are often distinguished in the lens index book through the application scenarios of the lens. What do each of them mean?


Coupling lens is used in the convergent optical path to converge the divergent light of the laser into the receiving fiber;


Collimator lens, also called collimation lens, is used in the collimating light path to convert the divergent light of the laser or fiber into a near-parallel beam with a small divergence angle.


2. The difference between coupling lens and collimator lens

 The difference between them lies in the distance from the light source to the focus of the object:


For a collimator lens, the light source is near the focus of the object, and the vertical magnification of the spot is tens to hundreds of times. For the convergent lens, the light source is far away from the focus of the object, and the vertical magnification of the spot is only a few times.


Next we will discuss a problem. Can coupling lenses be used for collimation? Or can the collimator lens be used for convergent light coupling? In practice, there is no need to consider this issue, because the lens supplier provides a rich library of lenses with similar prices, and there is no driving force for "one lens, two usages". The answer to this question should be considered in terms of numerical aperture and aberration.


(1) Numerical aperture


When the same lens is used as a collimation lens, its effective numerical aperture is obviously larger than when used as a convergent lens. Therefore, when a collimator lens is used as a convergent lens, it faces the risk of insufficient numerical aperture. Otherwise, there is no such problem. 


(2) Aberrations


Coupling lens or collimation lens are targeted to optimize the surface shape according to their own applications. Under the working distance and aperture recommended by the lens supplier, the wave aberration can reach within 0.05λ, and the coupling loss caused by such a small aberration can be ignored. If the coupling lens and the collimation lens are used interchangeably, the aberration may be larger than in the index book. As for how much larger, this should be determined according to the specific surface shape and working distance. The increase in aberration will directly cause a decrease in coupling efficiency.


In summary, the replacement of the coupling lens and the collimator lens will cause changes in the numerical aperture and deterioration of aberrations, which will cause the decline of coupling efficiency. The fluctuation range of this drop may be as little as a few tenths of a dB, and as much as 2~3dB. In the optical path with large power margin, the efficiency loss is within the acceptable range, so it can be used instead. However, do not use them alternatively in situations where the power margin is insufficient, especially in passive optical devices.

Related Content
  • The Application of Zoom Lenses

    The Application of Zoom Lenses

    February 2, 2021Ⅰ. The selection principle of the zoom lensesThe maximum imaging circle size of the lens should not be less than the imaging specification of the camera chip, that is to say, 1/2 lens can be used wit...view
  • Cold Processing Procedure of Optical Lens

    Cold Processing Procedure of Optical Lens

    July 15, 2019The first way: milling, is to remove the uneven surface of optical lens bubbles and impurities, (about 0.05-0.08) play a forming role.The second process is to eliminate the damage layer of the milling...view