联系我们

光学系统设计

任何一种光学仪器的使用和使用条件都会对其光学系统提出要求。因此,在进行光学设计之前,我们必须了解它对光学系统的要求。这些要求概括为以下几个方面。

18mm-microscope-objective-lens3


一、光学系统的基本特性
光学系统的基本特征是:数值孔径或相对孔径;线性场或场角;系统放大率或焦距。此外,还有一些相关的特征,如瞳孔的大小和位置、工作距离和共轭距离。

二、系统整体维度
系统的整体尺寸,即系统的水平和垂直尺寸。在复杂光学系统的设计中。设计者必须正确定义光学元件组瞳孔的兼容性。

三、成像质量
与使用光学系统相关的成像质量要求。按应用用途分类,对不同的光学系统有不同的成像质量要求。对于望远镜系统和一般的显微镜,只需要在中心视场具有良好的图像质量。但是对于摄影镜头来说,需要在整个视野范围内满足良好的质量要求。

四。仪器使用条件
当我们提出将光学系统的需求作为其功能时,必须考虑技术和物理两方面实现的可行性。比如生物放大倍率应该在500NA≤Г≤1000NA的范围内,我们在研制望远镜系统时,在考虑望远镜的视觉放大倍率时,必须考虑望远镜系统和人眼的分辨率极限。

光学系统的设计过程
光学系统设计是根据使用条件确定各种数据并满足应用成像质量使用要求的过程,即确定光学系统的性能参数、光学元件组的整体尺寸和结构因此,光学设计过程可以分为4个阶段:尺寸计算、初始结构计算、像差校正和平衡、图像质量评估。
一、整体尺寸计算

在这个阶段,我们需要拟定光学系统的设计原理,确定满足给定技术要求的基本光学特性,即放大倍率或焦距、线场或场角、数值孔径或相对孔径、共轭距离、工作距离后的膜片位置和外形尺寸等。因此,这个阶段通常被称为整体尺寸计算。一般来说,我们根据完善的光学系统理论和计算公式来计算整体尺寸。在此过程中,必须考虑机械结构和电气系统,以防止出现不可行结构。各项性能的确定一定要合理,过高会浪费设计成果,过低则设计达不到要求,所以这一步需要慎重考虑。

二、初始结构的计算与选择
通常使用以下两种方法来确定初始结构:
1.根据初始结构求解初级像差理论。
求解初始结构的方法是根据整体尺寸计算出的基本特征,利用一次像差理论求解满足图像质量要求的初始结构。
2.从现有文档中求解初始结构
这是一种实用且易于实现的方法。因此它被许多光学设计师广泛使用。但这需要设计人员对光学理论有深刻的理解,并且有丰富的设计经验。只有这样,他才能从众多的结构中挑出一个简单而苛刻的初始结构。初始结构的选择是镜片设计的基础。一个糟糕的初始结构,再好的自动化设计流程和经验丰富的设计师都无法让设计成功。

三、像差校正与平衡
选定初始结构后,在计算机上用光学计算程序计算光路,计算出所有像差和像差曲线。通过对像差数据的分析,可以找出对光学系统成像质量影响最大的像差。然后,我们可以找出修改的方法并纠正像差。图像差异分析和平衡是一个迭代过程,直到满足图像质量要求。

四。图像质量评价
光学系统的成像质量与像差的大小有关。光学设计的目的是校正光学系统的像差。然而,任何光学系统都不可能将所有像差调整为零,残余像差的存在是不可避免的。因此,光学设计人员必须了解光学系统的残差容差值和像差容限,才能根据残差来判断光学系统的成像质量。评价光学系统成像质量的方法有很多。我们将简要介绍像差评估方法

1. 瑞利的判断
实际波面与理想波面之间的最大波像差不超过1/4波长。是一种较为严格的图像质量评价方法,适用于像差较小的系统,如望远镜、微物镜等。

2.分辨率
分辨率是指光学系统分辨物体细节的能力。当一个点的衍射像中心与另一个点的第一个暗环重合时,恰好是两点的边界可以分开。

3. 直径点
当一个点发出的大量光线通过光学系统时,像差会导致光线与像平面的交点不聚焦在同一点上,并在一定范围内形成分散的图形,称为对角点。通常用作浓度在30%以上的点或一圈光的实用有效的分散光点。其直径的倒数是系统区分的数。一般用于评估大像差系统。

4. 光传递函数
该方法是基于物体由具有多种频率的光谱组成的理论,即物体的亮度分布函数展开为傅里叶级数或傅里叶积分。光学系统被视为线性不变系统,因此物体通过光学系统的图像可以看作是一系列不同频率的线性系统的传输。传输的特点是频率相同,但对比度下降,相位移动到一定频率。对比度的降低和相位的变化随频率而变化,它们之间的关系称为光学传递函数。由于光学传递函数与像差有关,因此可以用来评价光学系统的成像质量。它客观、可靠、易于计算和测量。它不仅用于评价光学设计的结果,还可以控制光学系统设计、光学镜片检测和总体设计过程的各个方面。
dual-fisheye

不同种类镜片的设计差异

一、相机镜头
相机镜头的光学特性可以用三个参数来表示:相机镜头的焦距F'、相对孔径D/f'和视场角(2 Ω)。事实上,就135相机而言,它的标准画幅已经确定为24mm X 36mm,对角线长度为2D=43.266。从下表我们可以看出相机镜头的焦距与视场角f'之间存在关系:tgω'=D/f'
在这个公式中:2D - 框架的对角线长度;
F'——镜头焦距。

相机镜头的另一个重要光学特性是相对光圈。它代表镜片通过光线的能力,用D/f'表示。它被定义为镜头孔径直径(也称为瞳孔直径)D与镜头焦距F'的比值。相对孔径的倒数称为镜头的孔径系数或孔径,也称为F,即F=f'/D。当焦距F'固定时,F与瞳孔直径D成反比。因为光的面积与D的平方成正比,所以光的面积越大,光通量越大镜片。因此,孔径数最小时,孔数最大,光通量也最大。随着孔径数量的增加,光孔变小,光通量减少。如果不考虑不同镜头透过率差异的影响,无论镜头焦距多长,无论镜头光圈直径多远,只要光圈值相同,它们的光通量都是相同的.与相机镜头相比,F是一个非常重要的参数,F值越小,镜头的适用范围越广。
与视觉光学系统相比,相机镜头具有较大的相对孔径和较大的视场,因此,为了在整个像平面上看到清晰的与物平面相似的图像,几乎所有的七种像差都需要校正。 .摄影物镜的分辨率是相对孔径和像差残差的综合反映。在确定了相对孔径后,制定出能够满足要求且易于实现的最优纠错方案。为方便起见,常使用色散光斑半径来衡量像差的大小,并使用光学传递函数来评估图像质量。

近几年兴起的数码相机镜头在设计评价和性能方面与传统相机镜头相似,主要区别在于:
1相对光圈比传统相机大。
2 短焦距导致景深增加。根据视场角的大小,我们可以计算出相当于传统相机镜头焦距值F'=43.266/(2*tg)。
3 高分辨率,根据光电器件中PIXEL的大小,一般数码镜头光学设计会达到1/(线)对。

二、投影镜头
投影镜头是指被照射的物体会在屏幕上形成明亮清晰的图像。一般来说,像距远大于焦距,所以物平面靠近投影镜头
投影镜头的放大倍率是测量精度、孔径大小、观察范围和结构尺寸的重要参数。
放大倍率越大,测量的精度越高,镜头的光圈越大。当工作距离为定值时,放大倍数越大,共轭距离越大,投影系统尺寸越大。根据光学知识,像中心的照度与相对孔径的平方成正比。所以可以采用增大相对孔径的方法来增加像面的照度。

液晶投影机使用的投影镜头与传统投影物镜的区别:
1 较大的相对孔径。
2 瞳距较长,需设计成金元心光路。
3 工作距离远。
4 高分辨率。
5 高失真要求
以上几点导致液晶投影机使用的投影物镜比传统的要复杂得多,与传统的3个镜头相比,它大约有10个镜头。

三、 F-theta镜片
F-theta 透镜可以用三个光学特性来表示,即相对孔径、放大倍率和共轭距离。倍率是F-theta lens的一个重要指标,因为物体大小是固定的,所以越小倍率越大,镜头像面越小,焦距越短。因此扫描系统结构可以做得更小,但镜头的分辨率要求更高。共轭距离是指目标图像的长度。对于镜头来说,镜头越长,共轭越短,镜头的设计难度就越大。原理图就像摄影物镜一样,是一个缩窄的过程。

optical-structure-1

F-theta镜头的设计特点:

1 F-theta镜头属于小光圈、小像差范围。对光学分辨率要求很高。
2由于光电器件,不仅校正白(混光)像差,还需要考虑R、G、B三个独立的波长像差。
3 严格校正畸变像差。


相关内容
  • 非球面透镜和柱面透镜

    November 17, 2021一、了解非球面透镜非球面透镜具有较好的曲率半径,可以保持良好的像差校正,以获得所需的性能。非球面镜片的应用带来...view
  • 碳化硅透镜的研究与分析

    March 29, 2019碳化硅材料具有低热膨胀、高强度反射等优点,是各种高性能和特殊环境应用的碳化硅镜片的理想材料。view

Hyperion Optics
What are you looking for?

Optical System Design

The use of any kind of optical instruments and the conditions of use will certainly make demands on its optical system. Therefore, we must understand its requirements to the optical system before we carry out the optical design. These requirements are summarized in the following aspects.


I. The Fundamental Characteristic of Optical System
The fundamental characteristic of optical system is: Numerical aperture or relative aperture; linear field or field angle; systems magnification or focal length. In addition, there are some related characteristics, such as, the size and location of pupil, working distance and conjugate distance.

II. The Systems Overall Dimension
The overall dimensions of the system, i.e., the horizontal and vertical dimensions of the system. In the design of complex optical systems. It is imperative that designers shall correctly define the compatibility of optical element groups pupil.

III. Imaging Quality
Imaging quality requirements related to the use of optical systems. Classified by the applications use, there are different imaging quality requirements on different optical systems. For the telescope system and the general microscope, it is necessary to have a good image quality only in the central field of view. But for the photographic lens, the good quality requirement is needed to meet in the whole field of view.

IV. The Use Conditions of Instrument
When we propose make the demand on optical system the function of the, we must consider the possibility of feasibility of both technical and physical aspects realization. Such as biological magnification should fit into the range of be among 500NA≤Г≤1000NA, when we develop telescope system, in terms of consider the telescope visual magnification, resolution limit of both telescoping system and human eyes must be taken into consideration.

The Design Process of Optical System
Optical system design is the process of determining a variety of data on the basis of use conditions and meets the application imaging quality use requirements, which is, determining the performance parameters of the optical system, the overall dimensions and the structure of the optical element group, etc. Therefore, the optical design process can be divided into 4 stages: the dimension calculation, the initial structure calculation, the aberration correction and balance, and the image quality evaluation.
I. The Overall Size Calculation

At this stage , we need to draw up the design principle of optical system, determine the basic optical properties, which will meet a given technical requirement, that is, the magnification or focal length, lineal field or field angle, numerical aperture or relative aperture, conjugate distance, after working distance of diaphragm position and external dimension etc.. Therefore, this stage is often called the overall dimension calculation. Generally, we calculate the overall dimensions according to perfect optical system theory and calculation formula . And in the process, the mechanical structure and electrical system must be considered in order to prevent the occurs of infeasible structure. The determination of each performance must be reasonable, if it is too high,  the design results will be wasted, if it is too low, the design will not meet the requirements, so this step is need to be considered carefully.

II. The Calculation and Selection of the Initial Structure
The following two methods are usually used to determine the initial structure:
1. Solve the primary aberration theory according to the initial structure.
The method of solving the initial structure is based on the fundamental characteristics calculated from the overall dimensions, and the primary aberration theory is used to solve the initial structure which meet the image quality requirements.
2.Solve the initial structure from the existing document
This is a practical and easy to achieve methods. So it is widely used by many optical designers. But it requires designers to have a deep understanding of the theory of optics, and has a wealth of experience in design. Only this, can he pick out a simple and demanding initial structure from a wide range of structures. The choice of the initial structure is the basis of the lens design. A bad initial structure, no matter how good the automatic design process and experienced designers can not make the design successful.

III. The Aberration Correction and Balance
After the initial structure is selected, the optical path is calculated on the computer with the optical calculation program, and all the aberration and the aberration curves are calculated. According to the analysis of aberration data, it is possible to find out which aberration is the main influence on the imaging quality of optical system. And then, we can find out the modified methods and correct the aberration. Image difference analysis and balance is an iterative process until the image quality requirements are met.

IV. The Image Quality Evaluation
The imaging quality of the optical system is related to the size of the aberration. The purpose of the optical design is to correct the aberration of the optical system. However, it is not possible for any optical system to adjust all the aberrations to zero, and the existence of residual aberration is inevitable. Therefore, the optical designer must have the knowledge of the tolerance value of the optical system’s residual and the aberration tolerance, so as to judge the imaging quality of the optical system according to the residual aberration. There are many methods to evaluate the imaging quality of the optical system. We will briefly introduce the aberration evelation method

1. Rayleigh’s Judgment
The largest wave aberration between the actual wave surface and the ideal wave surface is not more than 1/4 wavelength. It is a more rigorous method to evaluate image quality, which is suitable for small aberration system, such as telescope, micro-objective and so on.

2. Resolution
Resolution refers to the optical system’s ability in terms of distinguishing the object’s details . When the center of the diffraction image of a point coincides with the first dark ring of another point, it is precisely the boundary of the two points that can be separated.

3. Diapoint
When a lot of light emitted by a point go through the optical system, the aberration will cause the intersection between the light and the image plane not focus on the same point, and forming a dispersed graphics within a certain range, called the diapoint. It is usually used as a practical and effective dispersion spot with a concentration of more than 30% points or a circle of light. The reciprocal of its diameter is the number distinguished by the system. It is generally used to evaluate the large aberration system.

4.  Optical Transfer Function
This method is based on the theory that the object is composed of the spectruma with variety of frequencies, that is, the object's brightness distribution function expands as the Fourier series or Fourier integral. The optical system is regarded as a linear invariant system, so that the image of an object through an optical system can be regarded as the transmission of a series of linear systems with different frequencies. Transmission is characterized by the same frequency, but declining contrast, the moving phase to a certain frequency. The decrease of contrast and the change of phase vary with frequency, and the relation between them is called optical transfer function. Because the optical transfer function is related to the image difference, it can be used to evaluate the imaging quality of optical system. It is objective, reliable, and easy to be calculated and measured. It is not only be used to evaluate the results of optical design, but also to control all aspects of the optical system design, optical lens inspection and the process of general design .

The Design Difference Among Different Kinds of Lens

I. Camera lens
The optical properties of the camera lens can be represented by three parameters: the focal length of the camera lens F', the relative aperture D/f' and the field angle (2 Omega). In fact, in terms of 135 cameras, its standard frame has been determined as 24mm X 36mm, the diagonal length is 2D=43.266. From the following table we can see that there is a relationship between the focal length of the camera lens and the field angle f': tgω'=D/f'
In this formula: 2D - diagonal length of frame;
F'- focal length of lens.

Another important optical feature of the camera lens is the relative aperture. It represents the ability of the lens to pass through the light, expressed in D/f'. It is defined as the ratio of the lens aperture diameter (also known as pupil diameter) D and lens focal length F'. The reciprocal of the relative aperture is known as the aperture factor or aperture of the lens, also known as the F, that is, F=f'/D. When the focal length F'is fixed, the F is inversely proportional to the pupil diameter D. Because the area of the light is proportional to the square of the D, the larger the area of the light, the greater the luminous flux of the lens. Therefore, when the number of apertures is in the smallest value, the hole is in its largest value, luminous flux is also the largest. With the increase of the number of apertures, the light hole becomes smaller and the luminous flux decreases. If you do not consider the impact of different lens with transmittance differences, no matter how long the lens focal length is, regardless of how far the lens aperture diameter is, as long as the aperture values are the same, they have the same luminous flux. Compared with the camera lens, F is a very important parameter, the smaller the F value , the wider the scope of the lens.
Compared with the visual optical system, camera lens have a large relative aperture and large field of view, therefore, in order to see the clear and object plane similar image on the whole image plane, almost all the seven kinds of aberration need to be corrected. The resolution of the photographic objective lens is a comprehensive reflection of the relative aperture and aberration residue. After the relative aperture is determined, the optimal error correction scheme is developed, which can meet the requirements and is easy to realize. For convenience, Disperse spot radius is often used to measure the size of the aberration, and the optical transfer function is used to evaluate the image quality.

In recent years, the rising digital camera lens is similar with the traditional camera lens in the aspects of design evaluation and properties, the main difference is:
1 relative aperture is larger than traditional camera.
2 short focal length causes the depth of field increases. According to the size of the field angle, we can calculate the equivalent of the traditional camera lens focal length value F '=43.266/ (2*tg).
3 high resolution, according to the size of the PIXEL in the photoelectric device, the general digital lens optical design will achieve 1/ (line) pairs.

II. The projection lens
The projection lens refers to the illuminated object will form a bright and clear image on the screen. Generally speaking, image distance is much larger than the focal length, so the object plane is near the focal plane of the projection lens.
The magnification of the projection lens is an important parameter of the measurement accuracy, aperture size, observation range and structural size.
The larger the magnification, the higher the accuracy of the measurement, the larger the aperture of the lens. When the working distance is constant value, the larger the magnification is, the larger the conjugate distance is, the larger the projection system size. According to the knowledge of optics, the illumination of the image center is proportional to the square of the relative aperture. So the method of increasing the relative aperture can be used to increase the illumination of the image surface.

The difference between the projection lens used in liquid crystal projector and the traditional projection objective:
1 larger relative aperture.
2 pupil distance is longer, need to be designed as Jinyuanxinlight path.
3 long working distance.
4 high resolution.
5 high distortion requirements
The above points causes the projection objective used for LCD projectors is much more complex than the traditional, It is about 10 lenses compared with the traditional 3 lenses.

III. F-theta lenses
F-theta lenses can be represented by three optical properties, i.e., relative aperture, magnification and conjugate distance. The magnification is an important index of F-theta lenses, because the object size is fixed, the smaller the magnification is , the smaller the lens image plane is, the shorter the focal length is . So the scanning system structure can be made smaller, but the resolution of the lens is requires to be  higher. Conjugate distance refers to the length of the objective image. For lens,the longer of the lens and the shorter the conjugate, the difficult the design of lens is.The schematic diagram, like a photographic objective, is a narrowing process.


Design Features of F-theta lenses:

1 F-theta lenses belongs to a small aperture, small aberration scope. It has high requirements on optical resolution  .
2 due to the photoelectric device, it not only correct the white (mixed light) aberration, but also need to consider the R, G, B three independent wavelength aberration.
3 strictly corrected distortion aberration.

Related Content
  • The market and application of optical materials

    The market and application of optical materials

    November 8, 2017In recent ten years, with the development of modern optics, optoelectronics and information technology, there has been a kind of photoelectric digital products and information products with high techn...view
  • System Advantages of Aspherical Lenses

    System Advantages of Aspherical Lenses

    November 8, 2017Aspherical Lenses allow optical element designers to use less than traditional spherical element to calibrate the aberration, because the former aberration calibration provided for them than the latte...view

Corporate Info


  • TEL:+86-25-83307137
  • FAX:+86-25-86626312
  • EMAILrfq@hypoptics.com
  • ADDRESS:DanYang Industrial Zone Danjie Road #100, Danyang,China
    BaoXiang Road#6, Nanjing,China