联系我们

科学家通过集成激光器和反射镜简化了太赫兹设备

持续百万分之一秒的电磁脉冲可能是医学成像、通信和药物开发的关键。但是这种被称为太赫兹的脉冲需要很长一段时间都需要复杂而昂贵的设备。

现在,普林斯顿大学的研究人员已经极大地简化了太赫兹设备:将激光和反射镜转移到一对大小约为指尖。

在最近发表在 IEEE 固体电路杂志上的一篇文章中,研究人员描述了一种可以产生太赫兹波的微芯片。第二个芯片可以捕捉和读取海浪的复杂细节。

电磁波的未来:可实现透视材料新方法的太赫兹芯片

太赫兹波是电磁波谱的一部分,电磁波谱包括无线、X射线和可见光,而前者介于微波和红外波长之间。太赫兹波具有一些吸引科学家兴趣的独特特征。一方面,它们通过了大部分非导电材料,因此可以通过包装或额外的盒子在安全的应用场景中使用。因为它们的能量比 X 射线少,所以不会损伤人体组织或 DNA。

太赫兹还用于分析不同的化学物质,可用于表征特定物质,因为它们处理不同化学物质的方式不同。 Sengupta 说,这种能力被称为光谱、太赫兹技术,是使用光波分析材料最有前途和最具挑战性的应用。

为了实现这一目标,科学家们向目标物体发射了一系列太赫兹波,然后观察了它们与波相互作用的变化。人们的眼睛在可见光范围内是相似的,在绿光频率下,我们看到本拉登树叶的叶绿素发出的光反射出的绿光。

挑战在于如何产生大范围的太赫兹波并解释它们与目标的相互作用,这需要一系列复杂的设备,例如笨重的太赫兹发生器或超快激光器。设备的尺寸和成本对于大多数应用来说是不切实际的。

多年来,研究人员为简化这些系统做了大量工作。 9 月,Sengupta 的团队报告了一种减小太赫兹发生器尺寸和设备的方法,使其恢复到毫米大小的芯片。解决方案在于新的成像天线功能。当太赫兹波与芯片内部的金属结构相互作用时,它们会产生一个复杂的电磁场,这是入射信号独有的。通常,这些微妙的领域被忽略了。但研究人员意识到,他们可以读出该模式作为确定电磁波的特征。整个过程可以通过微芯片内部的微小设备来完成,这些设备可以读取太多赫兹。

布朗大学工程学教授丹尼尔·米特曼 (Daniel Mittleman) 表示,这项改进是“一项非常创新的工作,而且影响很大”。红外毫米波国际协会副会长米特尔曼表示,在太赫兹波段,它可以开始应用到日常生活中,科学家们在使用该设备之前还有很多工作要做,但发展前景看好.

相关内容
  • 过滤器的分类

    July 9, 2021虽然滤光片的种类很多,但它们的基本功能都是一样的:透射特定波长或颜色范围的光,同时阻止剩余波长通过......view
  • 金刚石镜片使激光光学材料加工系统更轻

    金刚石镜片使激光光学材料加工系统更轻

    November 8, 2017金刚石有一些显着的特性:比如它的折射率为2.4,非常高,可以制成更薄的光学元件,用于相同光功率的光学系统。 T...view

Hyperion Optics
ENGLISH
Menu
What are you looking for?

Scientists have Simplified the Terahertz Device by Integrating Lasers and Reflecting Mirrors

An electromagnetic pulse that lasts a millionth of a second could be the key to medical imaging, communications and drug development. But this pulse, known as terahertz, requires complex and expensive equipment for long periods of time.

Now researchers at Princeton university have dramatically simplified terahertz devices: transfer the lasers and reflecting mirrors to a pair of chips that are about the size of the fingertips.

In a recent article published in the journal IEEE solid circuit, the researchers described a microchip that could produce terahertz waves. The second chip can capture and read the intricate details of the waves.

The future of electromagnetic wave: a terahertz chip that can realize the new method of perspective material

Terahertz wave is part of the electromagnetic spectrum, the electromagnetic spectrum includes wireless, X-ray and visible light, while the former is between the microwave and infrared wavelengths. Terahertz waves have some unique characteristics that attract the interest of scientists. On the one hand, they pass most of the non-conductive materials, so they can be used in safe application scenarios by packaging or extra boxes. Because they have less energy than x-rays, they do not damage human tissue or DNA.

Terahertz is also used to analyze different chemicals, which can be used to characterize specific substances, because of their different ways of working with different chemicals. This ability, known as the spectra, terahertz technology, is the most promising and challenging application using light wave analysis materials, says Sengupta.

To achieve this goal, the scientists launched a series of terahertz waves to the target objects and then observed the changes in their interactions with the wave. People's eyes are similar in the visible light range, and we see a green light reflected by the light from the chlorophyll of bin laden leaves in the green light frequency.

The challenge is how to generate a wide range of terahertz waves and explain their interaction with the target, this requires a complex array of devices, such as a bulky terahertz generator or ultra-fast laser. The size and cost of the device is impractical for most applications.

Researchers have done a lot of work to simplify these systems over the years. In September, Sengupta's team reported on a way to reduce the size and device of a terahertz generator, making it return to a chip of a millimeter size. The solution lies in the new imaging antenna function. When the terahertz wave interacts with the metal structures inside the chip, they create a complex electromagnetic field, which is unique to the incident signal. Often, these subtle areas are ignored. But the researchers realized that they could read out the pattern as a signature to determine the electromagnetic wave. The whole process can be done through tiny devices inside the microchip, which can read too much Hertz.

Daniel Mittleman, an engineering professor at brown university, says the improvement is "a very innovative work, and it has a lot of impact." Mittleman, vice President of the infrared millimeter wave international association, said that in the terahertz band, it could start to be applied to everyday life, scientists still have a lot of work to do before they can use the device, but the development is promising.

Related Content
  • Optical System Design

    Optical System Design

    May 9, 2017The use of any kind of optical instruments and the conditions of use will certainly make demands on its optical system. Therefore, we must understand its requirements to the optical system before we c...view
  • Diamond Lens Makes Laser Optical Material Processing System Lighter

    Diamond Lens Makes Laser Optical Material Processing System Lighter

    November 8, 2017Diamond has some remarkable properties: for example, its refractive index is 2.4, which is very high, and can be made into thinner optical components for optical systems with the same optical power. T...view

Corporate Info

Contact

  • TEL:+86-25-83307137
  • FAX:+86-25-86626312
  • EMAILrfq@hypoptics.com
  • ADDRESS:DanYang Industrial Zone Danjie Road #100, Danyang,China
    BaoXiang Road#6, Nanjing,China