联系我们

激光光学——白光激光及其应用

现有的激光技术一直存在一个短板,只能发射单一波长或窄波段的光。如何扩大激光的频率,形成超宽带、超直、紫外、可见光和红外波长的相干白光激光,仍然是人类尚未实现的梦想,是世界性的科技难题。这是因为激光光学由光学谐振腔、增益介质和泵浦源组成。激光的波长由增益物质中原子、分子或离子的能级结构决定。

由于天然激光晶体材料对增益频率范围和增益带宽有很大的限制,激光器不能产生任何波长的激光。
会创造出完美的白色激光吗?它会给激光的应用带来哪些变化和发展?

 1。太阳光

众所周知,万物都是靠太阳生长的,阳光给大地带来光和热。我们熟悉的太阳光是一种白光,它的光谱覆盖了紫外-可见-近红外-中红外波段,如图1所示,在可见光波段(400-700nm),辐射能量最强,涵盖红、橙、黄、绿、蓝七种颜色,在光谱中连续分布和过渡。因为太阳是白色的,所以经常在雨后的天空中看到彩虹,或者阳光透过玻璃棱镜穿过七种颜色的光(图2)。这是日常生活中常见的经历。

人们不太熟悉的一件事是阳光是一种完全不相干的光。在空间相干性方面,太阳光不可能是直的和高度发散的。在时间相干性方面,不同颜色的阳光之间没有相位相关和锁定。所以太阳光只能用来发电供暖、热水器、太阳能电池等。

但是利用现代科学技术,比如利用阳光来传递信息,似乎是不可能的。


laser

太阳光的光谱分布。太阳辐射的光谱包括太阳本身、进入地球的太阳光的光谱,以及由于吸收大气中的水和二氧化碳而到达海平面的太阳光的光谱。

2、白光激光的优势及应用前景

白光激光光源、短波激光光源和连续激光与普通白光(如太阳光、白炽灯、白光LED灯等)相比,具有亮度高、峰值功率高、宽在科研、国防军事、照明、通信技术、信息技术、工业生产、生物医学、环境检测等领域受到广泛关注。

白光作为一种新型激光光源,具有方向性好、能量密度高、光谱超连续、带宽大、波长中心灵活、时空相干度高等多种优点。这将大大扩展激光技术的功能和应用范围。白光激光或太阳激光是完全相干的光,不仅是激光束的高度,而且是非常小的区域。幅度和相位完全不同的颜色锁定,通过调节幅度和相位,可以随心所欲地改变激光脉冲形状的时间,并产生非常短的脉冲宽度(飞秒和飞秒激光脉冲。这样的太阳能激光器将具有可以实现光能在空间和时间上的聚焦和汇聚,在很小的区域、很短的时间内释放能量,形成极高的瞬时功率密度。

相关内容
  • 准直器 Lemses 实现高效照明

    March 29, 2019中国科学院西安光学精密机械研究所信息光子学实验室的研究人员为Led设计了高效照明的准直透镜。回顾...view
  • 非球面镜片的优缺点

    July 15, 2019非球面透镜的表面弧度不同于普通球面透镜。为了追求镜片的轻薄,需要改变镜片的表面。非球面镜片应该...view

Hyperion Optics
ENGLISH
Menu
What are you looking for?

Laser Optics - White Light Laser and its Application

The existing laser technology has always had a short board, which can only emit light of a single wavelength or narrow band. How to expand the frequency of the laser forming ultra broadband, super straight, ultraviolet, visible and infrared wavelengths of coherent white light laser, is still a human unfulfilled dream, it is a worldwide problem of science and technology. This is because the laser optics is composed of optical resonator, gain medium and pump source. The wavelength of the laser is determined by the energy level structure of the atoms, molecules or ions in the gain substance.

Because the natural laser crystal material has a great limitation on the gain frequency range and gain bandwidth, the laser can't produce any wavelength of laser.
Will the perfect white laser be created? What changes and developments could it bring to the application of lasers?

1. The sun light

It is known to all that all things grow by the sun, and the sunlight brings light and heat to the earth. The familiar sunlight is a kind of white light, and its spectrum covers ultraviolet - visible - near infrared - mid-infrared bands, as shown in figure 1, In the visible light band (400-700 nm), the radiation energy is strongest, covering seven colors of red, orange, yellow, green and blue, and continuous distribution and transition in the spectrum. Because the sun is white, rainbows are often seen in the sky after rain, or the sunlight passes through a glass prism through seven colors of light (figure 2). This is a common experience in everyday life.

One of the things that people are less familiar with is that sunlight is a completely incoherent light. In terms of spatial coherence, the sunlight cannot be straight and highly divergent. In terms of temporal coherence, there is no phase correlation and locking between different colors of sunlight. So sunlight can only be used to generate energy for heating, water heaters, solar cells and so on.

But the use of modern science and technology, such as the use of sunlight to transmit information, seems to be out of the question.


laser

The spectral distribution of sunlight. The spectrum of solar radiation including the sun itself, the spectrum of sunlight entering the earth, and the spectrum of sunlight reaching the sea level due to the absorption of atmospheric water and carbon dioxide. 

2. The advantages and application prospect of white light laser

White light laser light source, short wave laser light sources and continuous laser light compared with the ordinary white light, such as sunlight, incandescent lamp, white LED lamp, etc.), it has the advantages of high brightness, high peak power, wide frequency range etc. In the fields of scientific research, defense military, lighting, communication technology, information technology, industrial production, biomedicine, environmental detection, etc.it got a lot of attention.

White light, as a kind of new laser light source, it has a variety of advantages of good directionality, high energy density, super continuous spectrum, great bandwidth, the center of the flexible wavelength, high degree of coherence time and space. This will greatly expand the function and application scope of laser technology. The white light laser or the solar laser is the completely coherent light, not only the height of the laser beam, but also the very small region. Different color between amplitude and phase locking completely, by regulating the amplitude and phase, it can change the time of laser pulse shape follow one's inclinationsly, and produce very short pulse width (femtosecond and the femtosecond laser pulses. Such a solar laser will have the potential to realize the focus and convergence of light energy in space and time. It releases energy in small areas and very short periods of time to form extremely high instantaneous power density.

Related Content

Corporate Info

Contact

  • TEL:+86-25-83307137
  • FAX:+86-25-86626312
  • EMAILrfq@hypoptics.com
  • ADDRESS:DanYang Industrial Zone Danjie Road #100, Danyang,China
    BaoXiang Road#6, Nanjing,China