联系我们

DNA:它会成为下一个热门光学材料吗?

背景

随着硅玻璃成为制造光纤的基础材料,硅成为无机光电设备领域的主要材料。不仅容易获得,而且从物质的角度来看,它的工作方式也很简单。但在有机光电子领域,科学家们需要找到一种具有同样优势的材料,最好能活在生命的世界里。

我们今天要介绍的材料是DNA。它可以用来制造像硅纤维一样在体内传输光的波导。未来,这些有机器件将比硅更容易制造、更灵活、更环保。

创新

最近,韩国首尔延世大学的研究人员想用鲑鱼的 DNA 制造有机膜。

该膜通常用于癌症治疗和健康监测,它不仅具有全硅基设备的功能,而且具有与活体组织更兼容的优势,可以制成更好的医疗电子设备和光子设备。< br/>
顾名思义,薄膜只是一层光学材料,厚度为纳米或微米,用于导光。如果膜是绝缘的,也就是像玻璃这样的绝缘体,我们不用担心它在使用的时候会导电。

技术

在光学设备中,材料的关键特性之一是折射率,它决定了光的传输方向。光纤需要具有相同折射率的纤芯和不同折射率的涂层。所以当光线照射到纤芯和包层界面时,它被迫返回纤芯而不是泄漏出去。光纤的制造商不仅需要两种不同折射率的材料,而且需要相差一个数量级,才能获得想要的效果。

在使用 DNA 制造可用于光学设备的薄膜的微调方法中,Oh 的团队可以实现比硅高四倍的折射率。与使用硅的 10 微米相比,由于纤芯和包层之间的折射率差异更大,它们可以制造更细的光纤,并且它们的直径低至 3 微米。对于从光纤发出的光,它带来了更小的散斑尺寸,因此它可以用于需要更仔细地瞄准光的应用。

价值

这种膜的潜在应用包括光动力疗法,通过这种疗法,癌症患者接受药物或其他与肿瘤中的癌细胞结合的物质,利用光激活药物并杀死癌细胞,而不会对健康组织造成伤害。
该膜还可用于光遗传学,可用于控制特定的脑细胞活动,或制造测量血压或氧气水平的传感器,并长时间佩戴而不会引起过敏,因为它们是有机的。

薄膜可用于温度传感器,通过薄膜的光变化与温度变化有关。 Oh 的实验室还在扩展控制 DNA 光学特性的其他选择。他希望开发一系列基本功能和工艺,使制造商能够制造各种光学设备,包括新一代可穿戴传感器。

相关内容
  • 片上任意模式点转换

    April 8, 2021片上光子器件在许多应用中显示出巨大的潜力,包括通信、微波光子信号处理、量子信息、传感和计算。最近,研究人员...view
  • 复消色差透镜的成像优势

    April 29, 2021一、复消色差透镜简介复消色差透镜是由正低折射率(Crown)和负高折射率(Flint)两个光学元件组成的透镜。复消色差透镜...view

Hyperion Optics
ENGLISH
Menu
What are you looking for?

DNA: will it be the next Hot Optical Material?

The background

As the silicon glass becomes the base material for making optical fiber, silicon has become the main material in the field of inorganic photoelectric equipment. Not only is it easy to get, but from a material point of view, the way it works is simple. But in the field of organic optoelectronics, scientists need to find a material that has the same advantages, and it's best to live in the world of life.

The material we're going to introduce today is DNA. It can be used to make waveguides like silicon fibers that transmit light in the body. In the future, these organic devices will be easier to make, more flexible than silicon, and more environmentally sound.

The innovation

Recently, researchers at Yonsei university in Seoul, South Korea, wanted to make organic membranes from the DNA of salmon.

The membrane is usually used for cancer treatment and health monitoring, it not only has the function of all silicon base equipment, but also has the advantage of more compatibility with living tissue, which can be made into better medical electronic equipment and photonics equipment.

As the name suggests, the film is just a layer of optical materials with nanometers or microns thick to guide the light. If the membrane is insulative, that is to say, insulators like glass, we don't have to worry about it conducting electricity when used.

The technique

In optical equipment, one of the key properties of the material is the refractive index, which determines the direction of light transmission. The optical fiber needs the fiber core with the same refractive index and the coating of different refractive index. So when the light hits the core and the cladding interface, it is forced to return to the core instead of leaking out. The manufacturer of the optical fiber needs not only the material with two different refractive index, but also the order of magnitude of the difference to obtain the desired effect.

In the fine-tuning method, which uses DNA to make films that can be used in optical devices, Oh's team can achieve a refractive index that is four times higher than silicon. With a higher refractive index difference between the core and the cladding, they can make thinner fibers, compared to the 10 microns that use silicon, and they are as low as 3 microns in diameter. For the light that comes out of the fiber, it brings a smaller speckle size, so it can be used for applications that require more careful targeting of light. 

The value

The potential applications of this membrane include photodynamic therapy, with this treatment, cancer patients receive drugs or other substances that bind to cancer cells in the tumor, use light to activate drugs and kill cancer cells, without harming healthy tissue.
The membrane can also be used in optogenetics, which can be used to control specific brain cell activity, or make sensors that measure blood pressure or oxygen levels, and wear them for long periods of time without causing allergies, because they are organic.

The membrane can be used for temperature sensors, and the changes in light through the membrane are associated with temperature changes. Oh's lab is also expanding other options for controlling the optical properties of DNA. He hopes to develop a range of basic features and processes that will allow manufacturers to make a variety of optical devices, including a new generation of wearable sensors.

Related Content

Corporate Info

Contact

  • TEL:+86-25-83307137
  • FAX:+86-25-86626312
  • EMAILrfq@hypoptics.com
  • ADDRESS:DanYang Industrial Zone Danjie Road #100, Danyang,China
    BaoXiang Road#6, Nanjing,China