联系我们

片上任意模式点转换

片上光子器件在通信、微波光子信号处理、量子信息、传感和计算等领域显示出巨大的应用潜力。最近,研究人员提出了一种新颖的设计概念,即通过芯片控制自由空间光束。与自由空间器件(如反射镜)相比,片上器件在轨迹和波前控制方面具有很大的优势。例如,基本模式点转换器(SSC)使用聚焦透镜。Eaton透镜已被证明能够弯曲芯片上的光轨迹,并具有Maxwell'的无像差成像特性;s鱼眼透镜已被用来构造交叉多模波导(MWG)。然而,所报道的方案仅被证明适用于基本模,高阶模或非正则模是特定应用中的首选模。在傅里叶光学中,4f系统广泛应用于光学信息处理。


最近,华中科技大学的戚薇和其他人,在体光学的4-F系统和光束扩展器的启发下,设计了一种SSC,并提出了两种基于超材料的渐变折射率波导。该器件可以在保持其轮廓形状的同时扩展其任意模式。与传统的绝热锥型SSC相比,在相同的模间串扰下,面积利用率可降低91.5%。实验证明,规则模的展开比为5。此外,对于不规则模式,研究人员在不改变结构的情况下对其功能进行了数值验证。本文的工作为片上模式点转换提供了一个通用的解决方案,可以进一步拓展片上傅里叶光学的应用前景。

相关内容
  • 什么是扩束器?

    February 2, 20211.扩束器简介激光扩束器是一种将平行光或激光的输入光束扩展成较大输出光束的科学仪器。就用法而言。。。view
  • 非球面透镜表面特性的理论分析

    非球面透镜表面特性的理论分析

    May 22, 2017摘要:非球面透镜在高精度光学系统中的应用越来越重要。而且,像其他光学透镜一样,表面必须在表面质量方面达到相同的标准。。。view

Contact Us

On-chip Arbitrary Mode Spot Conversion

On-chip photonic devices show great potential in many applications, including communications, microwave photonic signal processing, quantum information, sensing and computing. Recently, researchers have proposed a novel design concept about operating a chip to control a free-space beam. Compared with free space devices, such as mirrors, on-chip components exhibit great advantages in trajectory and wavefront control. For example, fundamental mode spot converters (SSCs) use focusing lenses. Eaton lenses have been proven able to bend the light trajectory on the chip, and the aberration-free imaging characteristics of Maxwell's fisheye lenses have been used to construct crossed multimode waveguides (MWG). However, the reported scheme has only been proven to be used for fundamental modes, and higher-order modes or non-canonical modes are the preferred modes in specific applications. In Fourier optics, 4-f systems are widely used in optical information processing.


Recently, Wei Qi and others at Huazhong University of Science and Technology, inspired by the 4-f system and the beam expander in bulk optics, designed an SSC, with two metamaterial-based graded index waveguides havine been proposed and experimentally demonstrated. The proposed device can expand its arbitrary mode while maintaining its contour shape. Compared with the traditional adiabatic cone SSC, it can reduce the area usage by 91.5% under the same inter-mode crosstalk. Experiments have proved that the expansion ratio of the regular mode is 5. In addition, for the irregular pattern, the researchers numerically verified its function without changing the structure. This work provides a general solution for on-chip mode spot conversion, which can further expand the application prospects of on-chip Fourier optics.

Related Content
  • Calcium Fluoride Lenses

    March 29, 2019Calcium fluoride lenses can also be fluorite lens. Fluorite is made of CaF2 crystal. Its obvious characteristics are low refractive index and dispersion, good transmittance for infrared ray and ultrav...view
  • The Difference Between Aspherical Lens and Spherical Lens

    December 10, 2021A sphere uses one curvature on the whole surface, just like cutting from a sphere. A non-sphere has different curvatures such as cutting from an ellipse. The main purpose of non-spherical is to solve ...view